The final race of the OPA World Finals featured four classes: Unlimited, Factory Stock, Class 1 and Vee Extreme. The latter three classes all featured boats running uncontested, as Cigarette Justice League suffered an engine problem and did not race in bracket Class 1. Thus, Taylor Scism and Johnny Tomlinson in Marine Technology (Factory Stock), Elliot Gray and Terry Forsythe of Bat Boat (Class 1), and Ed Smith and Anthony Smith in Knucklehead Racing (Vee Extreme) were all prepared to accept World Championships at this evening’s awards ceremony. (Knucklehead actually dropped out during Sunday’s race near the start with an engine problem).

The field of Unlimited competitors narrowed to just three boats: DF Young (Saturday’s winner), The Preserve and JBS. DF Young, piloted by driver Marc Granet and throttleman Rich Wyatt, led from wire to wire, repeating their first-place finish on Saturday, guaranteeing them a World Championship.

The full list of World Champions will be announced at OPA’s awards ceremony tonight.