Offshore race teams spent Friday and Saturday competing in Missouri’s Lake of the Ozarks Shootout Offshore, sponsored by XINSURANCE. The competition (formerly known as Lake Race) featured three bracket classes on Friday and was supposed to conclude with the first of two Class 1 bouts for the weekend, but the race was called due to poor visibility and all Class 1 races were pushed off to Saturday.

Saturday’s first Class 1 race started with three boats, but when dfYOUNG and Team Defalco both went out with mechanical issues, that left owner/throttleman Tyler Miller and driver Myrick Coil on the course by themselves in their Monster Energy/M•CON Skater. When two of the Class 1 competitors reconvened for a final confrontation on Saturday, Monster Energy/M•CON grabbed the lead over Team Defalco and took its second checkered flag of the day.

Myrick Coil and Tyler Miller

Eight Super Cat teams faced off on Saturday. Not only did attrition play a major role in the outcome, but so did a penalty. First, Chris Grant and Billy Moore spun out hard in the first lap while piloting Graydel/C.J. Grant Racing, stopping the action so the boat could be towed off the course. (No one was injured.) Then, after the action restarted, both HP Mafia and Rollin Transport/SV Offshore went out with mechanical problems, thinning the fleet to five boats. Dirty Money (with Brit Lilly and Bill Pyburn) took an impressive lead. They were followed by WHM Motorsports (with Billy Mauff and Jay Muller) and M•CON/Monster Energy (with Myrick Coil and John Tomlinson, filling in for Tyler Miller). However, following the race, officials disqualified Dirty Money for unspecified reasons, and WHM Motorsports was declared the winner. M•CON/Monster Energy moved up to the number-two position, and CR Racing (with Rob Unnerstall and Casey Boaz) took third place.

Four boats—three MTIs and one Doug Wright hull—joined forces in 450R Factory Stock class. From the start, Montlick Injury Attorneys (the sole Doug Wright competitor, with Logan Adan and Ricky Maldonado) took the lead and kept extending it all the way to the checkered flag. Mead Family Racing/MFR (with Caleb Mead and Shaun Torrente) finished second, GC Racing (with Willy Cabeza and Grant Bruggemann) was third, and T/S Motorsports (with Taylor Scism and Johnny Tomlinson) was fourth.

A dozen competitors joined the Super Stock contingent. Celsius (with Chris Hopgood and Jay Muller) were the ones to beat; they grabbed the lead early on and never looked back. Rounding out the podium were Jackhammer (with Reese Langheim and Julian Maldonado) and Coco's Monkey (with A.J. Bogino and Peter Bogino).

Event sponsor XINSURANCE had a red-letter weekend, with three of its own boats capturing checkered flags. In Mod Vee, XINSURANCE/Statement Marine (with J.J. Turk and Nick Buis) took the win, with Safe Cash/XINSURANCE coming in second. Meanwhile, in bracket class racing, XINSURANCE/TFR/Golf ’n’ Gator (also with Turk and Buis) were victorious in Class 500, while Ricky Harmeyer and Owen Buis (Nick’s son) were the winners in Class 700 with XINSURANCE/Statement Marine.

In Bracket Class 400, Simmons Marine (with Jim Simmons and Jason Zolecki) finished first, followed by Jimmy Wessel and Robert Goodwin in Boat Doctors/Miss Stress.

Team Farnsworth/Hancock Claims Consultants (with Christian McCauley and Jay Healey) ran unopposed in Super Vee; Ultimate Boat Racing Experience/Muscle Marine (with Ron Moore and Robert Goodwin) ran unopposed in Bracket Class 600.