The Thunder on Cocoa Beach offshore race in Florida completed its second day of racing Sunday under skies that were much sunnier compared to Saturday's. The day started with an exciting Class 1 race, followed by competition in Super Cat, 450 Factory Stock, Mod Vee, and two bracket classes.

Four Class 1 teams battled for the first time this season in a five-venue series that will include races in the Lake of the Ozarks, Sheboygan, Sarasota and St. Petersburg. The 2023 UIM Class 1 Series had been dominated by 222 Offshore's Giovanni Carpitella and Darren Nicholson, who have bowed out of competing this season. Attending the Cocoa Beach bout were dfYOUNG/Good Boy Vodka, Morpheus 8/Alegra Motorsports, Monster Energy/M•CON and Team DeFalco.

Billy Moore and Mike Falco took an early lead and managed to gain a sizeble lead for several laps before encountering a water-pressure issue. That allowed Alex Pratt and Rich Wyatt to steamroll ahead in dfYOUNG/Good Boy Vodka and take the checkered flag. They were followed by Brit Lilly and Johnny Tomlinson in Morpheus 8 and Myrick Coil and Steve Curtis in Monster Energy/M•CON.

"We lost water pressure on the port engine," Moore said after the race. "It filled the boat up with water, the engine kept getting hot and the water pressure wasn't coming back. So we pulled off just to save the engine. It's a bummer, but unfortunately, it's part of racing."

Next up, seven Mod Vee teams took to the 6.9-mile course, which they ran simultaneously with Bracket 200 and 400 classes. Rick Raab and Scott Jobin enjoyed a comfortable lead in Safe Cash/XINSURANCE, a 32' Phantom hull, taking the win over half a dozen competitors. Rounding out the podium were XINSURANCE/Statement Marine (with JJ Turk and Nicholas Buis) and Fastboys Racing (with Ken Bolinger and Forrest Riddle. Reigning World Champion competitor SunPrint/El Bandidio Tequila—which also took first place in April's race in Marathon, FL—went out with a mechanical issue. Meanwhile, in Class 200, Joey Olivieri and Billy Glueck led from pole to pole in OC Racing, followed by Billy Shipley and Chad Woody in Team Woody Racing. (A third competitor, H20 Performance/Two Conchs Charters, went out with a mechanical issue.) In Class 400, Framed Offshore Racing (with John Jeniec Jr. and Micheal Flammia) were victorious over Precious Vodka/SRQ Racing, which also went out with a mechanical issue.

Then it was time for the Factory Stock 450 competitors to take center stage. In Marathon, Montlick Injury Attorneys took the win. But in Cocoa Beach, Taylor Scism and Johnny Tomlinson led the race from start to finish in T/S Motorsports. Willy Cabeza and Grant Bruggemann trailed close behind in GC Racing, and in third place was 151 Express (with Ian Morgan and Nick Imprescia), giving all three podium spots to MTIs. Gladiator Canados (with Ervin Grant and Michel Karsenti) finished in fourth place, and Montlick (with Logan Adan and Ricky Maldonado) finished fifth. Mead Family Racing, with Caleb Mead and Shaun Torrente, went out with a mechanical issue.

Finally, it was time for seven Super Cat teams to battle. M•CON/Monster Energy, with driver Myrick Coil racing with Johnny Tomlinson (filling in for owner/throttleman Tyler Miller), was coming off both a World Championship in 2023 and a win in Marathon. At the start of the race, though, Graydel/CJ Grant Racing (with Chris Grant and Billy Moore) grabbed the early lead, and for about half the race, seemed like they might just stay out in front. However, both M•CON and Dirty Money (with Brit Lilly and Bill Pyburn) managed to get around Graydel, and M•CON maintained its lead to snare the checkered flag. Dirty Money finished second, and Graydel was third. They were followed by CR Racing/XINSURANCE, WHM Motorsports, Team Farnsworth/Hancock Claims and Wicked.

Offshore racing reconvenes at the Lake of the Ozarks May 30 to June 1 for Shootout Offshore (formerly known as LOTO Powerfest/Lake Race), now partnering with P1 Offshore. This will include the second race in the UIM Class 1 World Championship.